Cape Lukull, Ust-Alma necropolis
The first geographical mention of the Cape Lukull refers to 1842, when the cape emerged on the maps of colonel Betev and colonel Oberg. Its name was then recorded as «Ulu-Kul», which means «a big slope» in Turkic.
Some time later a navigation beacon was erected on one of its slopes to ensure the safety of vessels sailing to the port of Sevastopol, which today is represented in the form of a modernized naval hydrographic point of the Black Sea.
However, the history of this part of the Black Sea coast has more ancient roots that go into the III-II centuries BC, when the area was inhabited by ancient Scythians, who built on this site one of the largest cities in their history. At the same time, different historical sources argue that this city had several names, such as Palak, Napit or Hobe.
In any case, according to the unanimous opinion of many experts of history, it was undoubtedly a Scythian fortress, known nowadays as Ust-Alma necropolis.
This fortification was built here to control the movement of trade caravans, both marine and on-land, to such trading centers as Chersonesus, modern Sevastopol, Kerkinitida (Evpatoria) in Crimea, and further along the road to the ancient Pontic Olbia, on the territory of modern Dnieper-Bug estuary.